The Kansas Hospital Association honored Steve Hopkins, New Strawn, with the Trustee of the Year Award for his service to Coffey Health System. Hopkins was nominated for his selfless dedication as treasurer of the CHS board from 2014-2015 and, especially, as chair from 2015-2017.

“As everyone knows, healthcare is one of the most demanding, complex, and rapidly changing of industries. Let me take this opportunity to commend all hospital trustees for their dedication to Kansas hospitals and the health of Kansans,” said KHA Board Chair Scott Taylor. “This award honors nine hospital trustees who provided an exemplary contribution through their leadership and governance.”

Hopkins put in countless hours during his term as chairman. He worked at home reviewing the Constitution and Bylaws; was present nearly every weekday through leadership transitions; and readily made himself available—day and night—for meetings with the board or merely to provide advice and support to staff.

A trustee who worked closely with Hopkins during this time stated, “Being able to do that is one thing; being willing to do that is quite another. Steve came in with an open mind and without a personal agenda, assuring every step of the way that the hospital and the community were the top priority. He made it our priority to see that CHS is here for the long-run.”

In January 2017, Hopkins’ term as chairman ended, and he was elected to once again serve as treasurer. He chairs the Executive Finance Committee.

“Steve was chairman during a difficult time in our history, but with his guidance and vigilance Coffey Health System has turned a corner toward a bright future,” said Chief Executive Officer Leonard Hernandez. “I’ve known many exceptional trustees in my career, and I can’t imagine anyone more deserving of this award.”

He was presented the Trustee of the Year Award at the KHA annual convention on September 7 in Wichita.

Tracy Campbell
Director of Marketing & Public Information Officer
Coffey Health System
801 N. 4th, Burlington, KS 66839
(620) 364-4507